The Bund

clocktower_02_5000_72
Shanghai | The Bund | © DM Barlow (2017)

I never grow tired of walking along this one-mile stretch of colonial history – by day or by night. Sometimes I take the incredibly wasteful Tourist Tunnel ride from Puxi to Pudong (which more closely resembles the Wondrous (and rather sinister) Boat Ride from the movie, Charlie And The Chocolate Factory. The ride is cheap (I don’t mean the price – it is the opposite in that respect): I mean the props and the standing-room only cars which trundle along – transporting you to Future World, otherwise known as the Financial District, the famed Oriental Pearl Tower and the modern Shanghai skyline. 

This picture is comprised of two horizontal 90mm photographs, stitched together in Photoshop. Each photograph is a 3.2-second exposure. I use Manual White Balance – with an emphasis on blue and orange. I reduce Highlights in Camera Raw and run noise reduction.

