Hotel By The Sea

IMG_5786
Shanghai | Hotel By The Sea | © DM Barlow (2017)

The “Hotel By The Sea” stands alone, defiantly alone – like something out of a Roald Dahl story. All around, new high-rise offices and apartments soar. The old lanes and markets that used to surround the hotel have long since been demolished.  Every time I leave Shanghai and return I expect to find the hotel gone, but it is still there – four years after I first photographed it.  Hôtel Près De La Mer is my rather grand name for it, since it is only two hundred metres from the banks of the Huangpu River, and every time I visit the area there is usually a dense, ‘Mediterranean-blue’ fog, which seems to accentuate the building’s isolation.

A 17mm tilt-shift image on a horribly polluted and foggy evening. Changed auto White Balance to Tungsten, bumped up Contrast, opened Shadows, ran Noise Reduction. Voila.

